1st ODI: South Africa v Australia at Durban, Apr 3 2009, Watch Live Cricket Streaming

If South Africa wins this series it will remain No 1 Spot in the ODI Rankings.  It seems that every time these teams go head to head there’s a No. 1 ranking up for grabs. Nothing has changed. South Africa took the top ODI spot thanks to their 4-1 victory in Australia in January but to retain their new status they need to stop Australia winning this five-game series.

Toss: Smith tosses the coin, Ricky Ponting calls’ heads’ and heads it is, Australia elect to bat.

Smith says he’d have wanted to bat first but "we’re not too fussed at losing the toss".

Team news: Ben Laughlin gets to make his ODI debut. Australia have also gone in with a specialist spinner in Nathan Hauritz.


Australia: 1 Michael Clarke, 2 Brad Haddin (wk), 3 Ricky Ponting (capt), 4 Michael Hussey, 5 David Hussey, 6 Callum Ferguson, 7 James Hopes, 8 Mitchell Johnson, 9 Nathan Hauritz, 10 Nathan Bracken, 11 Ben Laughlin.


South Africa 1 Graeme Smith (capt), 2 Herschelle Gibbs, 3 Hashim Amla, 4 AB de Villiers, 5 JP Duminy, 6 Mark Boucher (wk), 7 Albie Morkel, 8 Morne Morkel, 9 Johan Botha, 10 Dale Steyn, 11 Makhaya Ntini.

Comments are closed.