ICL Ahmedabad Rockets beats Royal Bengal Tigers, 15th, Match Highlights

October 23rd, 2008 Posted in 20-20, ICL, Match Highlights, Twenty 20

Oct 22, 2008, Wed (ICL Match 15) Ahmedabad Rockets registered one of the easiest victories of this ICL 2008 as they beat Royal Bengal Tigers by   in a day and night encounter at the Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium at Ahmedabad on Wednesday.

Bhima Rao, who bowled an excellent spell conceding only 15 runs and claimed four wickets, and openers Murray Goodwin and Ryan Campbell helped Rockets register an easy win over Tigers.

Royal Bengal Tigers, who won the toss and elected to bat, were all out for 131 in the last ball of their stipulated 20 overs.

They lost their first wicket in Deep Dasgupta, who was bowled by Rakesh Patel, for 11 runs when their score was 31.

Opener Hamish Marshall, looking dangerous again, was unluckily run out for 20 off just 16 balls.

In-form Craig McMillan (21), Rohan Gavaskar (15) and Lance Klusener started off well, but could not sustain their run. None of the other batsmen got any starts.

This caused Tigers, who were 98 for four at one stage, to lose their last six wickets for just 33 runs.

Sumit Kalia was the most expensive bowler for Rockets conceding 38 runs off four overs.

Ahmedabad Rockets got off to a flying start as they scored 58 runs off just five overs.

Both openers Goodwin and Campbell were looking in good nick as they did not spare any of the Tigers bowlers.

They also put in the first century partnership of this ICL tournament. They achieved this feat in only 8.5 overs.

Campbell (66) was looking more ominous as he scored two sixes and a four in one over of Shiv Sagar Singh. His innings, which came off  only 35 balls, comprised eight boundaries and four sixes.

Goodwin’s 61 runs came off in 38 balls and contained 10 boundaries and a six.  

Bhima Rao, who bowled an excellent spell and also instrumental in running out Marshall, won the ‘man of the match award’. 

Comments are closed.