ICL Mumbai Champs Lose to Royal Bengal Tigers, 11th, Match Highlights

October 20th, 2008 Posted in 20-20, ICL, Match Highlights, Twenty 20

October 19 (ICL Match 11) Royal Bengal Tigers beat in a closely contested day and night encounter played at the Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

In a day and night encounter, Royal Bengal Tigers won the toss elected to bat and scored 170 runs.

Opener Hamish Marshall gave a flying start to the Tigers by scoring 55 off 38 balls. His knock included four boundaries and three sixes.

The bowling attack of Mumbai Champions didn’t prove to be much effective as only four wickets fell in the entire innings of Tigers.

Avinash Yadav, who gave 40 runs and took 2 wickets, proved the most costly bowler for Mumbai Champs.

The Tigers though lost their 4 wickets at frequent intervals before the innings ended.

Rohan Gavaskar scored a blistering 30 runs in just 12 balls helping Tigers to attain a decent run rate of 8.5.

Lance Klusener also scored 30 off 21 balls and remained unbeaten alongside Gavaskar.

This pair put on 49 runs for the fifth wicket.

Mumbai Champs lost an early wicket in Opener Taufeeq Umar, who was out for a duck when his team also did not get off the mark.

Nathan Astle and the other opener Dheeraj Yadav stabilized Champs innings as both put on 55 runs for the second wicket.

But, Nathan Astle, who was batting well on 32 off 31 balls, played an ambitious shot only to be caught by Abhishek Jhunjhunwala off Andre Adams.

Three more quick wickets only added to Mumbai team’s woes, with Eklak Ahmid picking up two.

However, late counter-attack by Johan van der Wath (35) and Subhojit Paul’s 32 off 14 balls raised the Champs hopes off wining the match.

Abu Nechim bowling the last over took two wickets and helped the Tigers win by 12 runs.

Rohan Gavaskar was named the ‘man of the match’.

Comments are closed.