ICL Lahore Badshahs defeated Ahmedabad Rockets, 12th, Match Highlights

October 20th, 2008 Posted in 20-20, ICL, Match Highlights, Twenty 20

October 19 (ICL Match 12) Lahore Badshahs defeated Ahmedabad Rockets by 31 runs in a day and night encounter at the Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

Ahmedabad Rockets, who won the toss, asked Lahore Badshahs to bat first.

Azhar Mahmood led the team from Pakistan in place of Inzamam-ul-Haq.

Lahore Badshahs openers Imran Nazir and Imran Farhat gave a brisk start, but Farhat perished when he was caught off skipper Damien Matryn off Jason Gillespie’s bowling for 18 when their team was 28.

Sumit Kalia struck thrice for Rockets when he had Imran Nazir, Naved-ul-Hasan and Shahid Yousuf in three overs putting the Pakistan team on a back foot.

At the halfway mark of 10 overs, Badshahs were 72 for four.

Naved Latif and wicketkeeper Hafiz Khalid tried to build a partnership, but they were both removed by Parvex Aziz in a single over.

Aziz also accounted for skipper Mahmood who caught at the boundary ropes by Gillespie for eight.

Then, Badshahs only managed to score 136 for the loss of nine wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.

Hafiz Khalid (27) was the highest scorer for Badshahs.

Ahmedabad Rockets got off to a poor start as they lost both Ryan Campbell and Damien Martyn at twenty.

Azhar Mahmood and Mohammad Sami claimed wicket apiece.

Murray Goodwin (4) also did not last long as he was caught by Nazir off Naved. Sridharan Sriram (2) also followed suit as he was caught plumb before Saqlain Mushtag.

Rockets were in a shaky ground with a score of 39 for four off eight overs at this stage.

Sodhi (14) played on to his wickets off Shahid Nazir’s bowling, while Pervez Aziz (26) missed the line off the same bowler.

By the time Streak (8) holed out to Khalid off Mughal’s bowling and Kalia (1) was bowled by Mushtaq, it was all over for Ahmedabad Rockets.

Mushtaq was the most successful bowler for Badshahs with figures of three for 26.

Azhar Mahmood was the named the ‘man of the match’ for his captaincy.



Comments are closed.